Fill in the Blank Friday

It’s been a while since I’ve done a FITBF post, and Lauren’s approach has changed since my last one. Instead of 7 blanks, there’s just one open-ended sentence. It sounds like fun to me, a chance to practice my stream of consciousness writing. So, without further ado: This week’s prompt is,

“If I could get away for the day, I would go….”

…to a city!

I would walk among the tall buildings, water bottle in hand,

Taking pictures of random people and things,

As I imagine what their lives are like.

Is he a painter?

Is she a poet?

Perhaps the tattered old man sitting on that stoop was once a great professor.

I would stop in to a coffee shop

To sip peppermint mocha

And crack a book, glancing all the while

At the lonely girl in the corner

Or the boy desperate for a hug,

And say a silent prayer before finishing a page.

I would leave to walk once more

Among the hurting masses

And begin to sing.

I’d sing loud and strong,

Praising God for all He’s done

In my life.

Then, as the sun began to set,

I would find a spot to sit.

I would open up my notebook and take out a pen.

I would jot down some notes

On the awesomeness of God’s creation

And lose myself in the crowd

Once the darkness touched down.

2 thoughts on “Fill in the Blank Friday

  1. My first thought was that I would find a storage solution store and see if I could find some ideas for how to store the things that are still left unpacked from the arrival of our moving truck to try to bring a little more calm into the house. But after reading yours, that feels a bit selfish. So I’m not really sure.

Leave a Reply

