Naturally Slim: Fresh Start Challenge

Like most women, I’ve been trying to lose excess weight for a while now. But somehow life keeps getting in the way. I’ll lose a few pounds, gain most of them back, lose a few more, gain back a little extra….

You know how it is.

Today I start fresh, and I need you all to help me.

How?

By keeping me accountable. You can help just by reading my posts – knowing that someone is watching will make me feel like I need to present well. You can help even more by commenting from time to time – comments : bloggers as cocaine : crackheads. Another option is hounding me on facebook – facebook is my best frenemy.

Today I will outline my goals and give my initial stats: weight and measurements for my neck, bicep, chest (under-bust, since breastfeeding makes my boobs grow and shrink constantly), natural waist, navel, mama roll (low belly/high hip), hips, and thigh.

Every week I will give an update on my stats and summarize my food intake and energy output, which I will be journaling daily.

How long will the challenge go on?

As long as it takes. Once I hit my goals, I will need to maintain them. So this should be an ongoing series for, well, ever.

Goals

According to the jerks scientists who developed the BMI tables, a woman my height (5 feet, 3 inches) should weigh between 107 and 140 pounds.


Yeah, that’s so not gonna happen. I hit 150 for the first (and probably last) time in the 5th grade and 180 in junior high. When I got back down to 165 a few months before becoming pregnant for the first time, the doctor told me I was malnourished.

Because I have lymphedema, my weight is not a very good indicator of my overall fitness. In fact, it’s not uncommon for me to gain 10 pounds of water weight in a single day! I also have several medical conditions that affect the way my body and brain react to certain foods and activities. So my goals are going to be a little different than the average girl’s.

For instance, instead of shooting for a weight in the target range set by the BMI experts, I am shooting for a weight at which I have been healthy in the past. And instead of striving for a supermodel’s hourglass-shaped body, I am striving for the pear-shaped dimensions that I believe are achievable for me at that weight.

In addition to watching what I eat and exercising more, I will be using the ItWorks! Ultimate Body Applicator to detox and a sampling of their other products as my budget allows.

Ready to get your sexy back? Let’s get started!

And now, without any further ado, here are my beginning stats, with weight in pounds and all other measurements in inches…

I’m going to try to limit myself to weighing and measuring once per week. And I’ll post the results in a chart like this one every Wednesday.

So, who’s gonna join me?

Comments will be open to anyone wanting to nag support me and/or join in on the challenge. And if you want to do your own weekly posts, link up in the comments. If enough of you link here, I’ll set up a linky for the weekly posts.

Here’s to new beginnings!

6 thoughts on “Naturally Slim: Fresh Start Challenge

Leave a Reply

