Menu Plan Monday: Happy Halloween!

It has been another crazy weekend here. On Saturday, our power was out for close to 5 hours, due to the record-breaking snow storm that hit the Northeast. Five hours without electricity may not sound bad to you, but imagine having no heat – nearing bedtime – with a 6 month old and a mom who are highly sensitive to the cold, three asthmatics, and an oven that needs electricity to turn on.

That wasn’t the worst part, though. Our internet was out, too.

NOOOOOO!

We somehow managed to survive the lack of entertainment by actually paying attention to each other. To combat the cold as darkness took over, we lit some candles, put a pot of water on the manually-lit gas stove, and set up a family sleeping space on the living room floor. Just as we were about to go to sleep (early, because our throats were sore from so much reading and everyone was bored), the lights came on, the heater blasted, and the kids begged for a movie. The hot Peruvian obliged, and I got on the computer to catch up with facebook do some school work.

Yesterday, we couldn’t go to church, because shoveling our driveway would have taken several hours, so everyone but Gabe and I played in the white mess. The snow finally started to melt around dinner time. Yay! (yeah, so in case you haven’t noticed, I hate snow.)

I also found out this weekend that my daddy has skin cancer. He’s had bunches of moles and things removed in the past, but this one is on his face. And the doctor is worried they’ll have to do extensive surgery. On his face.  For those of you who don’t know, my dad is a preacher and runs a nonprofit. He is also the only one who can chauffeur my chair-ridden mom and pre-teen brothers, care for their big yard and many pets, and do many the homemaking-type tasks that mom can’t do anymore. So please pray for them. For dad’s health, of course, but also for my mom and little brothers who rely on him for just about everything. Thanks!

Allrighty, now onto what you came for:

Breakfasts
cereal, most likely levery day

Lunches
leftovers, again probably every day

Suppers
Hot Pockets & baby carrots
scrambled stuffed peppers
enchurritos, rice & salad
grilled cheese & tomato soup
pizza
clam chowder & salad
chicken, barley & green beans

Snacks
Halloween candy for them, water & coffee for me.

Yes, the main ingredients on this menu will be mostly packaged, processed foods. My workload for class is super heavy this week, so the family will be lucky if they get to eat 3 meals a day. It bothers me a little, but failing Psych would bother me more.

And, like those falsetto-loving BeeGees said, “[we] will survive!”

I hope.

P.S. There may not be any recipes link to this post just yet, BUT I did just add a recipe page. So if you wanna know how to make the yummy multigrain pancakes I made last week, now you can!

5 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday: Happy Halloween!

  1. So much more than a weekly menu list — I like that. Sounds like you have a lot going on too. Regarding the snow, I’m in NW Minnesota so, not to be mean or anything, but I’m thanking the Lord for no snow here yet! I’m glad you all “survived,” the power outage, but I don’t think that’s the Bee-Gees. Gloria Gaynor??? Just a guess. I could be wrong. Let me know if I’m mistaken. Hope your weather has returned to normal? (I haven’t seen the news in a couple of years, so I find out everything late!) By the way, I just joined the Menu Plan Monday-thing. So I’m just out looking around at other people’s menus and wondering if I need to take mine up a notch!! Thanks!

    • You’re right. It’s not the BeeGees; they were stayin’ alive. Oops!

      Thanks for stopping by! I’ll be over to check out your “place” in a bit.

Leave a Reply

