Follow-Through Thursday

This may or may not become a weekly thing. Because, as you may have noticed, I have a problem with follow-through. But it seemed like a good idea today, so perhaps….

On Monday, I participated in my first ever Menu Plan linky in hopes of establishing a little more organization in my kitchen schedule. Well, the week has been pretty crazy, so I’ve failed big time at sticking to the plan. BUT I have decided to take it all in stride and chalk it up as a learning experience.

Here’s a run-down on my plan successes and failings so far:

Breakfasts
Mo – bananas, dry cereal, milk
Tu – biscuits and gravy, juice Cereal at home, and the boys had to eat at school. They were running super late.
We – eggs and toast, juice biscuits and gravy
Th – smoothies with granola, water cereal                                                                              I would love to think that I can feed my family a healthy breakfast every morning. And sometimes I do. But right now, just getting up in time to stuff some dry cereal in a baggie as I kiss the school and work goers goodbye is major feat. (I really need to figure out a way to get my school work done before 1am.)

Lunches
Mo – leftovers
Tu – apple sandwiches, popcorn Leftovers again. I do want to try the apple sandwiches idea, but who has time to get so creative between chasing a toddler, changing diapers, and cuddling a baby?
We – pizza, green beans, pineapple More leftovers. They were yummy!
Th – pasta with red sauce, salad You guessed it, even more leftovers! I really just can’t seem to find it in myself to fix a meal for just me and two littles, when we’ve got perfectly good reheatable food already in the fridge.

In our house, even the Lego men are well-fed.

Suppers
Mo – linguine with white clam sauce, salad Spinach sounded way yummier.
Tu – rice cooker mac and cheese, chicken, broccoli It was easy AND ¡delicioso!
We – meatloaf, taters, zucchini The meat didn’t thaw in time, so we had tuna sandwiches and salad instead.
Th – pb&j, carrots and celery sticks I may actually end up doing apple sandwiches instead, but it will depend on my energy level and the kids’ cooperation. Either way, there will be peanut butter and carrots. I think the celery is growing fur =(

Snacks
M – brownies I didn’t have a chance to bake any, but I did have 3 Little Debbie brownies in the cupboard. So I cut them in half, and we shared the so-bad-for-you-it-must-be-goodness! 
Tu – fruit and cheese We had orange wedges and milk (and by “we” I mean I got one and the kids fought over the rest).
W – oatmeal cookies Mmmmmm! I’ll have to share the recipe sometime.
Th – whatever the play therapist offers This is our Thursday standard. The littles also talked me into some chips this morning. Guess I need to do an extra 50 crunches now.

Chances are my Friday-Sunday plans won’t be followed very well either, but hey, I’m a work in progress. And really, I guess I haven’t done too terribly, considering that we’re recovering from a couple weeks of sickness and I’ve been trying to catch up on my past-due school work.

Over the next few weeks, I hope to improve my time management and efficiency in many areas. With any luck, that will mean blogging more regularly, too. I hope you all join me on this journey of learning to follow through! (tehe, that rhymes)

Leave a Reply

