I really do WANT to blog…

I SO want to write. It is my passion and has been since I was just 5 years old. But there’s this life thing that just keeps getting in the way.
So often I see a new blog challenge or have a good day and think, “I’m gonna get back to blogging every day!” 
And then life happens. (that should be my new header)
This week, I’ve got sick kids, a dad in the hospital, more appointments than I care to count, I spent a day watching my 10 and 11 year-old brothers (one of whom is autistic and does not get along well with two of my kids), and we have yet to go shopping for diapers and something – anything – other than meatless macaroni to eat for a meal or two.
I’m not complaining. In fact, I’ve noticed over the last few weeks that my outlook on life and my sense of joy have increased greatly. Life is tough, but God is good.
I am in a place I never wanted to be, never though I could get close to. But it is exactly where I belong. While I thought I wanted to be an old maid, living alone for life, God knew I needed to be a young mother, overwhelmed and over-blessed with a houseful of chillins to love. I never thought I  would allow myself to be abused, never thought I could care for children with special needs, never knew I could fall in love with my best friend. But here I am: I’ve been through the fire, gotten burned, and come out alive. I’ve learned to cherish the difficult moments with my children, as we learn together how to cope. And that best friend I spoke of has become the love of my life, my knight in shining armor, without whom my world would crumble.
It’s amazing! Life gave me lemons, and I wallowed in grief over them. But the marvelous Prince of Peace squeezed those lemons for me,  added just the right amount of sweetness to make the most perfect lemonade anyone can imagine, and then taught me to love the stuff, to thrive on its sustenance. 
Wow. That went way off from where I started. Cool beans!
3 thoughts on “I really do WANT to blog…

  1. I know exactly how you feel – I'd love to write more often, but other things in life take priority. God gives us little (and big) tests each day, and those I'm grateful for. Peace,Michelle at greenearthbazaar.com ~ fellow SITStah 😉

  2. Boy do I understand this?!?! I would love to have the time to sit down and just write everyday, I would love to have the quiet place necessary to words to flow freely from my mind to the keyboard but as you said…Life happens. I love the way your post ending…sometimes its so necessary to just sit down and allow the writing to sort out what you really feel. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

