The ULL Revolution

I am a lover of words. Especially strange, rarely-used words. In sixth grade, when we were allowed to pick a new word to put on our spelling test one week, I chose antidisestablishmentarianism. (Even the blogger spell check doesn’t recognize this word, but it’s in Webster’s, I promise!)

I am also a hater of normalcy. This got me into a lot of social trouble early on, and is only now ironing out into almost-acceptance in most areas of my life. When everyone else was embracing the late-nineties styles, I was ridiculed for dressing like a hippie. When peasant dresses and flowery shirts came back in style, I started in on my goth/punk phase. When that came back, I embraced the preppy styles that had been popular while I was a hippie. (I must admit, however, that that was mainly because it’s all Walmart sells in plus sizes.)

Because of my love for words and my hatred of the norm, I decided back in high school to revive and reinvent a few phrases. Instead of “cool” I said “spiffy.” Instead of “bag” or “purse,” I said “sack.” When others said “that rules,” I said “that reigns!” As a young adult, I have also gotten some people around me started on saying “cool beans.”

Why? I don’t know. Because I can.

So today I invite you to embark on a new venture with me!

Ya know how we all write “lol” any time we see something even remotely funny online? If you’re like me, you even think it in real-life conversation, then get embarrassed when you almost let it slip. Well I want to change that.

I mean, let’s be honest here. How often do we actually “laugh out loud” or experience “lots of laughs” at a mildly funny facebook status message? I know that I, personally, don’t laugh much at all. Perhaps I should. (In fact, maybe I should make it a goal to laugh more.) But it takes something really funny to get me to LOL. And a joke’s gotta be absolutely high-larious to get a ROFL or a LMBO [my cleaned-up version of LMAO] out of me. And yet I type those things with an alarming frequency. For example:



What in the world does this even mean?! What could I have possibly found to “laugh out loud” about here?

I’ll tell you what: n-o-t-h-i-n-g.

lol has become a generic term used in place of “I’m not really sure what to say here, but I feel like commenting, so I’ll say ‘lol’ and hope nobody pays attention to how stupid it sounds.”

Does this make me a liar?
YES            NO
(circle one, lol)

So anywho, in an attempt to limit my unintentional lying and to see if my personality is bold enough to stretch across the interwebs universe, I propose that we begin a revolution!

For all those IMs, statuses, emails, posts, and comments that prompt us to let out a little chuckle or a small giggle, I’d like to suggest that we create a new acronym: ULL, or ull,
which stands for uh little laugh. Why the “uh” instead of “a,” you ask? Simple. Because “a-l-l” spells all, and that would be just a little confusing. Plus, it gets me singing that All laundry detergent jingle from the late 80s/early 90s: ♫Stain lifter, that’s All♫ And that makes me feel really, really old.

Here is my call to action. And if you’ve read this far, you might just be a crazy as I am. You’ve read it and now’s your chance to shine.

Who’s with me?

9 thoughts on “The ULL Revolution

  1. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you'll come back to the Double Wide and will LOL or at least ULL. I do not type LOl unless I really, really do (rare), I love the word antidisestablishmentarianism and have used it often (not really) but we are definitely birds of a feather. What do you say about someone who uses cross-out a lot? Cool Beans!

  2. Thanks for dropping by, ladies!What do I say about someone who uses cross-out a lot? I dunno. Today was my first time, and you got to come with me as I lost my cross-out virginity. We must share a pretty tight bond between these two double wide lives!

  3. Isn't so funny that how we interact online isn't exactly how we interact in real life. I know I don't really LOL in real life that much.

  4. Ha, I did read all the way to the end! I'm nuts! I like to type "thbbbpt," which is my way of blowing a raspberry in text. It doesn't seem to have caught on yet, though. If it did, I suppose I'd have to move on to something else.

  5. I actually have seen that one once or twice before! But only once or twice. In the 14 years or so that I've been online. (Boy, am I old!) So I think it's safe to keep using it for a while. =)

Leave a Reply

